The 9th Visual and Physiological Optics meeting (VPO 2018) will be held in Athens, Greece from August 29 to August 31, 2018. The venue will be the historical building of the University of Athens, located at the heart of Athens on Panepistimiou str.

VPO meetings bring together researchers, students, and clinical professionals from around the world to present their latest innovations in the fields of optics, optometry and vision sciences.

Authors are invited to submit of up to 3 pages of content (including figures and references). The submissions will be assessed by our Scientific Committee, which will assign oral and poster presentation slots.

Topics include but are not limited to:

  • Refraction and wavefront aberrations
  • Eye modelling
  • Adaptive optics
  • Ocular biomechanics
  • Refractive correction
  • Scattering and straylight
  • Cornea and tear film
  • Crystalline lens
  • Intraocular lenses (IOLs)
  • Retinal and subretinal layers
  • Subjective and objective retinal image quality
  • Innovative eye diagnostics

Scientific Committee

  • Andrey Larichev – Lomonosov Moscow State University, Russia
  • Barbara Pierscionek – Nottingham Trent University, UK
  • Brian Vohnsen – University College Dublin, Ireland
  • Christopher Dainty – University College London, UK
  • David Atchison – Queensland University of Technology, Australia
  • Harilaos Ginis – Athens Eye Hospital, Greece
  • Henryk Kasprzak – Wroclaw University of Science and Technology, Poland
  • Jos Rozema – Universitair Ziekenhuis Antwerpen, Belgium
  • José Ramón Jiménez – Laboratory of Visual Sciences and Applications of the University of Granada, Spain
  • Juan Tabernero – Anglia Ruskin University, UK
  • Larry Thibos – Indiana University, USA
  • Linda Lundström – KTH Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm, Sweden
  • Neil Charman – University of Manchester, UK
  • Pablo Artal – Universidad de Murcia, Spain
  • Rafael Navarro – Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Aragon, Spain
  • Ray Applegate – University of Houston, USA
  • Richard Legras – Université Paris-Sud 11, France
  • Scott Read – Queensland University of Technology, Australia
  • Susana Marcos – Instituto de Optica, Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Cientificas (IO-CSIC) Madrid, Spain
  • Tom van den Berg – Nederlands Herseninstituut, Netherlands
  • Vasyl Molebny – Institute of Biomedical Engineering, Academy of Technological Sciences, Ukraine

Local Organising Committee

  • Harilaos Ginis – Athens Eye Hospital, Greece
  • Dimitrios Christaras – Universidad de Murcia, Spain
  • Eva Philippaki – King’s College London, UK
  • George Kymionis – Université de Lausanne, Switzerland
  • Aris Pallikaris – University of Crete, Greece